Reach out and touch... everyone.

Prototype is easily the best offline game that I’ve played this year, and yet I don’t have a whole lot to say about it. You’re a mutant badass with amnesia, hellbent on killing anyone that might give you answers (you absorb their memories). That works for me, I’d rather get every answer from killing than have to deal with potential lies and deception. The gameplay, oh dear sweet lord the gameplay. It’s everything you could hope for as a badass no-holds barred supermutant let loose on New York City. Pictures really describe everything much better that my meager attempt at wordsmithery, so I’ll just let those have a go at things instead.

Skewering masses of enemies? Check...

Punch a Tank in the face? Check...

Evade paramilitary forces? Check...

Hole-in-the-chest punches? Check...

Rip the head off giant monster dog things? Check...


Not really sure, but there's exploding blood! Check!

Overcompensatingly Long Tentacle? Check...

Run along buildings like they're the ground? Check...

Did I mention you can fucking fly (mostly)? Check!

Hijacking Helicopters? Check...

Bodysurfing? Check...

Creating huge shockwaves? Check...

I win button? Check...

Better make that Double Check...

So yeah. The sandbox mayhem ALONE is worth the money for this game. Not to mention the story and hundreds of cutscenes involved when you absorb someones memory. It’s a non-stop adventure game that continuously makes you feel like a god AND calls you out on being god-like in-game. The paramilitary group refers to you as Zeus constantly. Right about now you should be feeling a little silly that you haven’t gotten your hands on this game. It’s okay, once I played through the first 20 minutes or so, I felt the same way.

Run along now. You don’t need that extra money in your wallet anyway.